The XFC has changed tomorrow night’s main event

The XFC has made some changes to tomorrow night and they have announced a new main event. 

The main event was scheduled to be Corey Hill taking on Mike Bronzoulis, but it was announced earlier this morning that Bronzoulis was off the card.

The XFC has announced that Corey Hill is off the card and the new main event will be Nicolae Cury (6-4) taking on Roger Carroll (11-5) in a welterweight bout.

Both fighters are known for their submission finishes and all of Carroll’s wins have come by submission, with eight of those wins coming in the first round. Cury is also a fighter that doesn’t waste time in the cage as five of his wins have come in the first round and all have come by submission.

“Roger is a submission machine and has some really big wins lately,” XFC President John Prisco said. “Josh Eagans, who was on a five fight win streak and thought to be the best welterweight in the region got caught by Roger late last year. He submitted him a minute into the first round. He’s very impressive. But Nicolae is no slouch. I actually think this fight could stay standing due to both men being at such a high level on the ground. This fight could turn into a chess match or it could stay standing and one of these guys will get their first big knockout. This is going to be exciting either way and the stakes have never been higher for both men, when it comes to our welterweight division.”

What happened with the previous main event? Prisco sent out a message on Twitter and said there will be more said later on AXS TV, which will broadcast tomorrow night’s fight card.

Along with announcing the new main event, the organization has said that Corey Hill will return later this fall or in the winter. He made his XFC debut late last year and recently signed a long term contract with the MMA organization.

The current fight card for XFC 19: Charlotte Showdown is below:

Main Card: (AXS TV – 9 p.m. ET)
Nicolae Cury (6-4) vs. Roger Carroll (11-5)
Simona Soukupova (2-1) vs. Felice Herrig (6-4)
David Mays (6-3) vs. Nick Newell (7-0)
Shane Crenshaw (3-0) vs. Jason Hicks (4-0)
Joe Elmore (6-4) vs. Kevin Forant (2-0)
Lawson McClure (8-2) vs. Keith Richardson (7-3)
Johnny Buck (10-8) vs. Ricky Rainey (3-0)

Preliminary Card:
Joseph Caroll (5-6) vs. Jeff Tharington (2-4)
Zack Klouse (3-1) vs. Tony Scarlett (0-1)
Brian Karmolinski (0-6) vs. Carlos Vivas (0-0)