Bellator 93 Results: Dave Jansen wins lightweight tournament

Bellator 93 took place on Thursday night at The Androscoggin Colisee in Lewiston, Maine as Dave Jansen won the season seven lightweight tournament with a decision victory over Marcin Held.Bellator 93 WI

Held was able to take control of the fight in the first round by using his striking to gain the advantage. He was able to out land Jansen in the first round, but that would be the only round that he would land more strikes.

In the second and third rounds, the fight was primarily on the ground as Held attempted seven different submissions. Jansen was able to escape all of the submission attempts by his opponent and use his strikes on the ground to pave his way towards the victory.

All three judges scored the fight 29-28 for Jansen and he wins the season seven lightweight tournament, which he wins $100,000 and a guaranteed title shot in the Bellator lightweight division.

Martinez wins in 18 seconds over Wiuff
In the only heavyweight fight on the card, Ryan Martinez only needed 18 seconds to defeat Travis Wiuff by knockout. Martinez landed a combination that dropped Wiuff near the fence and landed another punch on the ground before referee Dan Miragliotta came in to stop the fight.

Martinez (9-2) has now won back to back fights in Bellator and this is his fifth first round victory in his career. Bellator is planning to have a heavyweight tournament this summer and he may have just punched his way into the tournament.

Davis-Spiritwolf declared a no contest
The first fight on the Bellator 93 main card was a welterweight bout as Marcus Davis was making his Bellator debut against Waachiim Spiritwolf. The fight would be declared a no-contest after Davis landed an accidental knee to the groin of Spiritwolf as he would not be able to continue.

The complete Bellator 93 results are below:

Main Card: (Spike TV)
Dave Jansen def. Marcin Held via unanimous decision (29-28, 29-28, 29-28)
Ryan Martinez def. Travis Wiuff via KO (strikes) – Round 1, :18
Waachiim Spiritwolf vs. Marcus Davis declared a no-contest (groin shot)

Preliminary Card: (
Dave Vitkay def. Jesse Peterson via technical submission (guillotine choke) – Round 1, :18
Michael Page def. Ryan Sanders via KO (punch) – Round 1, :10
Jason Butcher def. Jack Hermansson via submission (triangle choke) – Round 1, 2:24
Mike Mucitelli def. Brent Dillingham via submission (armbar) – Round 1, 2:48
Joe Pacheco def. Pierre Pierry via submission (keylock) – Round 1, 1:54
Vince Murdock def. Jon Raio via TKO (strikes) – Round 3, 4:01
Jon Lemke def. Jesse Erickson via TKO (strikes) – Round 1, 2:50