Ronny Markes vs. Derek Brunson canceled following car accident

A middleweight bout between Ronny Markes and Derek Brunson at tomorrow’s UFC on FUEL TV 10 card has been canceled following Markes being involved in a car accident on Friday morning. FUEL TV 10 Small

News of the cancelation of the fight was reported by MMA Junkie and MMA Fighting.

The cancelation was later confirmed by the UFC and it was announced that the fighter suffered a concussion in the car accident. According to Guilherme Cruz of Tatame, Markes was the passenger in a car that was driven by Andre Pederneiras. Markes hurt his neck, back and ribs in the car accident and this caused him to pull out of the fight.

Following the weigh-ins, Brunson released a statement on Twitter about his opponent being unable to fight tomorrow night.

“Surreal moment, my opponent was in a car accident this am,” Brunson tweeted. “100 % happy he’s ok with no serious injuries. He had a concussion so he’s unable to fight. I’m bummed due to the training camp, time and sacrifices I put in. But I’m living every fighter’s dream. Fighting at the highest level. Looking forward to a quick turn around. Can’t wait to put on a show. Thanks for the support, God Bless!”

Markes and Brunson were scheduled to be one of eight fights on the preliminary card on Facebook and with the fight off the card. Both fighters will receive their show purse for the fight and it’s unknown at this time if the UFC will look to reschedule this fight for a future card.

UFC on FUEL TV 10 will now have eleven fights and the current card is below:

Main Card: (FUEL TV – 8 p.m. ET/5 p.m. PT)
Antonio Rodrigo Nogueira (34-7-1) vs. Fabrico Werdum (16-5-1)
William Macario (6-0) vs. Leonardo Santos (11-3) – TUF Brasil 2 Final
Thiago Silva (14-3, 1NC) vs Rafael Cavalcante (11-3, 1NC)
Daniel Sarafian (7-3) vs Eddie Mendez (7-1-1)
Erick Silva (14-3) vs Jason High (16-3)
Rony Jason (12-3) vs Mike Wilkinson (8-0)

Preliminary Card: (Facebook – 4:30 p.m. ET/1:30 p.m. PT)
Raphael Assuncao (19-4) vs Vaughan Lee (13-8)
Godofredo Pepey (9-1) vs Felipe Arantes (14-4-1)
Ildemar Alcantara (18-5) vs Leandro Silva (18-7)
Rodrigo Damm (10-6) vs Mizuto Hirota (14-6-1)
Caio Magalhaes (5-1) vs Karlos Vemola (9-3)
Antonio Braga Neto (8-1) vs Anthony Smith (17-9)