Bellator 103 set for October 11th in Kansas with featherweight tournament semifinals

Bellator MMA will be holding their first fight card in Kansas on October 11th as Bellator 103 will take place from the Kansas Star Arena and will feature the semifinals of the season nine featherweight tournament.

Daniel Dahlback - The MMA Report
Daniel Dahlback – The MMA Report

Along with the featherweight tournament semifinal bouts, the main card will feature season eight lightweight tournament winner David Rickels and season eight light heavyweight tournament finalist Mikhail Zayats.

Tickets for Bellator 103 are on sale now and can be purchased at or by visiting the Kanas Star Arena Box Office.

Both of the semifinal bouts in the season nine featherweight tournament will take place on the main card as Patricio Pitbull (18-2) meets Fabricio Guerreiro (18-1) and Justin Wilcox (12-5) faces Joe Taimanglo (19-4). The winners will then face each other later this year with the winner securing their title shot in the featherweight division.

Rickels (14-2) will be stepping into the cage for the fight time since being defeated by lightweight champion Michael Chandler at Bellator 97. His opponent on October 11th with be J.J. Ambrose (19-4) who was a season six lightweight tournament quarterfinalist and defeated Brian Warren by submission at Bellator 85 earlier this year.

Zayats (21-7) is returning from injury and this will be his first fight since losing to Emanuel Newton in the season eight light heavyweight tournament. He will face Aaron Rosa (17-5) is a former UFC fighter and this will be his second fight in Bellator. He won his Bellator debut in 2010 and this will be his first fight since exiting the UFC in 2012.

The current Bellator 104 fight card is below.

Main Card: (Spike TV – 9 p.m. ET/7 p.m. PT)
David Rickels (14-2) vs. J.J. Ambrose (19-4)
Justin Wilcox (12-5) vs. Joe Taimanglo (19-4) *
Fabricio Guerreiro (18-1) vs. Patricio Pitbull (18-2) *
Aaron Rosa (17-5) vs. Mikhail Zayats (21-7)

Preliminary Card: ( – 7 p.m. ET/4 p.m. PT)
Ricky Musgrave (9-3) vs. Cody Carrillo (8-6)
Jesse Thorton (6-3) vs. Jeimeson Saudino (6-1)
Donnie Bell (8-2) vs. Marcio Navarro (9-8)
Maurice Jackson (1-1) vs. Matt Uhde (3-3)
Remy Bussieres (2-0) vs. Blake Pool (0-0)
Carlos Eduardo (10-2) vs. Wayman Carter (3-1)

* – Featherweight Tournament Semifinal