UFC Fight Night 28 Result: Kevin Souza wins UFC debut by split decision over Felipe Arantes

Kevin Souza entered the UFC riding a seven fight win streak and he kept his win streak alive by defeating Felipe Arantes by split decision in the final preliminary bout of UFC Fight Night 28.UFC Fight Night Brazil

During the opening round, Souza was able to keep the fight on the feet for the first three minutes and scored with his punches. Arantes was able to get the fight to the ground with two minutes left in the round and had top position. He would pass his position and landed short elbows. He would then look for a submission but could not lock it in before the round came to a conclusion.

Souza was able to keep the feet on the feet in the second round and controlled the stand up battle. Arantes had his back against the cage for a majority of the round and struggled to land much offense during the middle round. After the conclusion of the round, Arantes corner told him that he lost the round and the fight would come down to the final round.

At the beginning of the third round, Arantes landed a head kick but was unable to follow it up with another strike. They would continue their striking battle and Souza landed a right hand that appeared to stun Arantes. He attempted to finish the fight against the fence but Arantes was able to take the fight to the ground. Souza would get back to his feet but Arantes would get another takedown in the final minute of the fight.

The fight would be decided by the judges scorecards as Souza (14-4) won on two of the three scorecards. He has now won eight straight fights and this is the first time he has won by decision. Arantes (15-6-1, 2NC) falls to 2-2-1 in the UFC and both of those defeats have come by decision.

UFC Fight Night 28 Results:
Kevin Souza def. Felipe Arantes via split decision (29-28, 28-29, 29-28)
Lucas Martins def. Ramiro Hernandez via submission (rear-naked choke) – Round 1, 1:10
Elias Silverio def. Joao Zeferino via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 30-27)
Ivan Jorge def. Keith Wisniewski via unanimous decision (29-28, 30-27, 29-28)
Sean Spencer def. Yuri Villefort via split decision (30-27, 28-29, 29-28)