Yushin Okami vs. Svetlozar Savov added to WSOF 9

A middleweight bout has been added to the World Series of Fighting 9 card on March 29th in Las Vegas as Yushin Okami will make his debut in the organization against Svetlozar Savov.WSOF 9 Poster

The fight booking was announced by the World Series of Fighting on Monday and this fight will be one of the fights on the main card broadcast on NBCSN.

World Series of Fighting 9 will come from The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel and Casino in Las Vegas on March 29th and will be headlined by Steve Carl defending the welterweight title against Rousimar Palhares.

Okami (29-8) has gone 3-3 in his last six fights and was released by the UFC following his TKO defeat to Ronaldo “Jacare” Souza at UFC Fight Night 28. Prior to that defeat, he had won three fights in a row and two of them were by decision.

Savov (12-4) will also be making his World Series of Fighting debut in this fight and has won three of his last four fights. His last fight took place in October of 2012 and he defeated Bojan Velickovic by decision.

“I was already excited for World Series of Fighting 9, but the addition of Yushin Okami against Svetlozar Savov to our live NBCSN broadcast leaves no question that this is the best card we’ve ever put together,” World Series of Fighting President Ray Sefo said. “This card now has some of the world’s most established talent, as well as some of the top up-and-coming names in the sport. This truly is a card you do not want to miss.”

The current World Series of Fighting 9: Carl vs. Palhares fight card is below.

Main Card: (NBCSN – 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT)
Steve Carl (21-3) vs. Rousimar Palhares (15-5)
Marlon Moraes (12-4) vs. Josh Rettinghouse (10-2)
Yushin Okami (29-8) vs. Svetlozar Savov (12-4)
Josh Burkman (26-10) vs. Tyler Stinson (26-9)
Ozzy Dugulubgov (5-1) vs. Johnny Nunez (4-0)

Preliminary Card: (WSOF.com – 6 p.m. ET/3 p.m. PT)
Mike Corey (12-3, 1NC) vs. Shane Kruchten (11-2)
Chris Gruetzemacher (11-1) vs. John Gunderson (34-15)
Sean Cantor (1-0) vs. Bryson Hansen (6-1)
Phil Dace (9-4) vs. Danny Davis (8-8-1)
Brenson Hansen (5-2) vs. Boostayre Nefarios (2-1)
Jimmy Jones (4-2) vs. Rudy Morales (2-0)
Gil Guardado (2-0) vs. Jimmy Spicuzza (2-0)