Interim flyweight title fight set for ONE Championship 45: Heroes of the World on August 13

The interim ONE Championship flyweight title will be on the line in the main event of ONE Championship 45: Heroes of the World on August 13 in Macao as Adriano Moraes will meet Andrew Leone.

The fight booking was announced by ONE Championship in a press release on Monday.

“ONE continues its rise as the world’s most exciting mixed martial arts promotion with another massive fight card planned in Macau next month,” ONE Championship CEO Victor Cui said. “We have some tremendous match-ups for fight fans out there, including a thrilling main event between two of the world’s best flyweights in Adriano Moraes and Andrew Leone.”

Moraes (15-2) is coming off a submission win against Eugene Toquero at ONE Championship 40 and has won five of his last six fights. He lost the ONE Championship flyweight title last year against Kairat Akhmetov split decision and both of his career defeats have come by split decision.

“Real champions pick themselves up when they are down,” said Moraes. “I feel renewed as a fighter and ready to reclaim my place at the top of my division. I’m going to get inside the cage against Andrew [Leone] and show the world that I’m back.”

Leone (8-2) is currently on a three fight winning streak and is 8-1 since losing his pro debut in 2010. Six of his eight wins have come by decision and is coming off a win in February against Koetsu Okazaki at ONE Championship 39.

“It’s my time now. I’ve been working very hard on my game, and feel I’m at that point in my career where I’m ready to just take the reins and show everyone who I am,” said Leone. “With an amazing team behind me, I have all the tools I need to compete at the highest level.”

The current ONE Championship: Heroes of the World fight card is below.

Adriano Moraes (15-2) vs. Andrew Leone (8-2)
Adrian Pang (22-8-2) vs. Eduard Folayang (15-5)
Eddie Ng (7-3) vs. Honorio Banario (9-6)
Christian Lee (5-0) vs. Martin Nguyen (6-1)
Alain Ngalani (2-2) vs. Alexandre Machado (7-2)
Ma Jia Wen (2-2) vs. Jimmy Yabo (5-3)
Ma Hao Bin (2-1) vs. Chan Rothana (4-1)
Kritsada Kongsrichai (4-2) vs. Joshua Pacio (7-0)