Joe Vedepo replaces Tom DeBlass, meets Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal at Bellator 131

Tom DeBlass pulled out of his Bellator 131 bout against Muhammed “King Mo” Lawal on Saturday and Bellator has announced that Joe Vedepo has agreed to step in on short notice to face Lawal.Joe Vedepo

Bellator officials announced the new fight booking on Monday.

Bellator 131 will come from the Valley View Casino Center in San Diego, California and will be headlined by Tito Ortiz meeting Stephan Bonnar in a light heavyweight bout.

This is the second straight time that Lawal (13-4, 1NC) was scheduled to meet DeBlass and he had his opponent change shortly before the scheduled fight. Back in September, he defeated Dustin Jacoby by TKO in the second round at Bellator 123 when DeBlass pulled out of the fight with a knee injury.

Vedepo (17-8) made his debut in Bellator in 2012 and is currently on a three fight winning streak. He is coming off a TKO win at Bellator 129 last month and two of his last three wins have come by stoppage.

“This is just an absolutely blessing,” Vedepo said. “When I got the phone call to fight on November 15, I didn’t even need to hear who the opponent was, I was all in. Mo’s tough as hell, he’s one of the best wrestlers in the sport, but I haven’t stopped training in months and I know this is a chance of a lifetime. I always thrive on coming into the fight as an underdog, and while I have all the respect in the world for a guy like King Mo, underestimating what I bring to the cage would be a huge mistake.”

The current Bellator 131: Ortiz vs. Bonnar fight card is below.

Main Card: (Spike TV)
Tito Ortiz (17-11) vs. Stephan Bonnar (15-8)
Will Brooks (14-1) vs. Michael Chandler (12-2)
Muhammed Lawal (13-4, 1NC) vs. Joe Vedepo (17-8)
Melvin Manhoef (29-11) vs. Joe Schilling (1-3)
Mike Richman (17-5) vs. Nan Phan (20-13)

Preliminary Card: (
AJ Matthews (6-3) vs. Kyle Bolt (8-3)
Ron Henderson (0-0) vs. Jonathan Santa Maria (0-0)
Jordan Bailey (2-1) vs. Alex Higley (0-0)
Matt Ramirez (1-0) vs. Nick Garcia (1-1)
Andy Murad (8-2) vs. Bubba Pugh (3-1)
Rolando Perez (7-4-1) vs. Mark Vorgeas (5-2)
Ian Butler (1-0) vs. Joao Faria (1-1)