John McCarthy assigned as referee for Nate Diaz vs. Conor McGregor II at UFC 202

UFC 202 will be headlined by a rematch as Nate Diaz meets current UFC featherweight champion Conor McGregor in a welterweight bout and the third person in the cage will be John McCarthy.

Nevada Athletic Commission Executive Director Bob Bennett recommended McCarthy as the referee during today’s Nevada Athletic Commission meeting, which was approved by the commissioners.

In addition to naming McCarthy as the referee, the commission assigned Derek Cleary, Jeff Mullen and Glenn Trowbridge as the judges for the fight.

The current UFC 202: Diaz vs. McGregor II fight card is below.

Nate Diaz (19-10) vs. Conor McGregor (19-3)
Anthony Johnson (21-5) vs. Glover Teixeira (25-4)
Carlos Condit (30-9) vs. Demian Maia (23-6)
Cody Garbrandt (9-0) vs. Takeya Mizugaki (21-9-2)
Rick Story (19-8) vs. Donald Cerrone (30-7, 1NC)
Neil Magny (18-4) vs. Lorenz Larkin (17-5, 1NC)
Tim Means (25-7-1) vs. Sean Strickland (18-1)
Hyun Gyu Lim (13-5-1) vs. Sultan Aliev (13-2)
Marvin Vettori (10-2) vs. Alberto Uda (9-1)
Artem Lobov (11-12, 1NC) vs. Chris Avila (5-2)