Will Paul/CES MMA

Marquis Brewster vs. Tim Williams added to CES MMA 37

A matchup of young bantamweights has been added to the CES MMA 37 preliminary card next month as Marquis Brewster will look to remain undefeated when he meets Tim Williams.

The fight booking was announced by CES MMA on Monday.

CES MMA 37 will come from the Twin River Casino in Lincoln, Rhode Island on August 12 and will be headlined by Andre Soukhamthath defending the CES MMA bantamweight title against Kin Moy.

Brewster (1-0) won six of his seven fights as an amateur, including a decision win against Carmelo Dominguez at CES MMA 35. His pro debut came last month at CES MMA 36 as he scored a decision victory against Vladimir Kazbekov.

“Absolutely. I’m looking to establish my name, especially with this fight in August, and I’m looking for a big finish,” Brewster said in the press release announcing the fight. “It’s great to win fights, which is what I’m doing, but everyone loves stoppages and that’s the best way to move up and eventually get that CES MMA title shot. I’m going to put on a show, finish my opponent, and I can’t wait.”

Wheeler (1-1) made his pro debut at the end of 2014 and scored a submission victory against Justin Cook. After being out of action for just over a year, he returned to the cage in January and was defeated by submission against John Lopez.

“I went all the way to Hawaii to steal the show before,” Wheeler stated. “It was fun, and I’ll be doing it again — just a little closer to home this time,” said Wheeler with a laugh. “I’m going to put my opponent away and spoil all his fans’ fun.”

The current CES MMA 37: Soukhamthath vs. Moy II fight card is below.

Main Card: (AXS TV – 9 p.m. ET/6 p.m. PT)
Andre Soukhamthath (10-3) vs. Kin Moy (8-2)
Matt Bessette (19-7) vs. Pedro Gonzalez (11-5)
Greg Rebello (20-6) vs. Ashley Gooch (9-4)
Joe Pingitore (6-1-1, 1NC) vs. Bill Jones (12-10)
Chuck O’Neil (16-8) vs. Trent McCown (7-3)

Preliminary Card: (Unaired)
Pat McCrohan (2-0) vs. Ruslan Melikov (3-1)
Devin Carrier (1-1) vs. Connor Barry (1-0)
Marquis Brewster (1-0) vs. Tim Wheeler (1-1)