It appears that the return of former UFC champion B.J. Penn is once again delayed as MMA Junkie is reporting that an injury has forced Penn to pull out of next week’s UFC Fight Night 97.

According to the report by MMA Junkie, Penn suffered an injury in training and the UFC has not confirmed at this time that Penn is out of the fight.

UFC Fight Night 97 will come from the SM Mall of Asia Arena in Pasay, Manila, Philippines and the entire event will air live on UFC Fight Pass beginning at 6:45 a.m. ET/3:45 a.m. PT.

The current UFC Fight Night 97 fight card is below.

Main Card: (UFC Fight Pass – 10 a.m. ET/7 a.m. PT)
Ricardo Lamas (16-5) vs. TBD
Derrick Lewis (16-4, 1NC) vs. Marcin Tybura (14-2)
Jenel Lausa (6-2) vs. Yao Zhikui (2-3)
Cole Miller (21-10, 1NC) vs. Mizuto Hirota (17-7-2)

Preliminary Card: (UFC Fight Pass – 6:45 a.m. ET/3:45 a.m. PT)
Sam Alvey (28-8, 1NC) vs. Alex Nicholson (7-2)
Jon Tuck (9-3) vs. Mehdi Baghdad (11-5)
Dongi Yang (13-3) vs. Ryan Janes (8-1)
Seo Hee Ham (16-7) vs. Danielle Taylor (7-2)
James Moontasri (9-4) vs. Alex Morono (12-3)
Kyoji Horiguchi (17-2) vs. Ali Bagautinov (14-4)
Damir Hadzovic (10-3) vs. Yusuke Kasuya (9-2-2)

One Response

  1. RODNEY P

    This is not really that surprising. And it’s probably a good thing for BJ Penn because fighting Ricardo Lamas doesn’t really appear to be an attractive fight for BJ Penn right now. To bad BJ Penn can’t get a so called “warm up fight” to aid in his UFC return. And yes, I know he fought Frankie Edgar in his return from retirement and looked pitiful with that standing straight up fighting style.